The web-site is now in readonly mode. Login and registration are disabled. (28 June 2019)

Learning tasks

Help and useful resources about learning tasks

Cloud created by:

Gráinne Conole
11 October 2009

Conole has developed a learning activity taxonomy which defines the components involved in a learning activity. There are six types of tasks which a student might do as part of the learning activity:

  • assimilative (attending and understanding content), 
  • information handling (e.g. gathering and classifying resources or manipulating data), 
  • adaptive (use of modelling or simulation software), 
  • communicative (dialogic activities, e.g. pair dialogues or group-based discussions),
  • productive (construction of an artefact such as a written essay, new chemical compound or a sculpture)
  • experiential (practising skills in a particular context or undertaking an investigation).

Extra content

Embedded Content


Contribute to the discussion

Please log in to post a comment. Register here if you haven't signed up yet.